Rememberance of December 7th, 1941……A Date That Will Live In Infamy

Posted on Updated on

Please take this time to pause and remember the bombing of Pearl Harbor seventy-two years ago and forced the entrance of the United States into World War II. No longer do we seem as a nation to want to honor the memory of the men and women that died during the Japanese attack that devastated the United States and plunged us into that war. As a descendant of of Filipino mother, World War II has a special significance for me. Please help me honor the memories of all of those brave men and women that fought in World War II to secure the freedoms that we enjoy today. Thank you.

http://www.foxnews.com/us/2013/12/07/pearl-harbor-ceremony-marks-72nd-anniversary-bombing/

President Franklin Roosevelt’s radio address to the nation: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M0PW1Jhuu2Q

Pearl Harbor Anniversary.JPEG-06a4e

4 thoughts on “Rememberance of December 7th, 1941……A Date That Will Live In Infamy

    Britt Watwood said:
    December 8, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    I was born five years after WWII, and so grew up with my parents and the parents of my friends deeply affected by that war. When I entered the Navy, there were still people serving who had seen action on World War II. Now, we are 72 years from the attack on Pearl Harbor, and for many, it is seen in the same light as a Civil War battle (or the Battle of Hastings in 1066) – ancient history. Thanks for reminding us about the day. I know many are war weary after 11 years of conflicts in Afghanistan and Iraq…but failing to remember history dooms us to repeat it.

      tcstearns said:
      December 8, 2013 at 6:51 pm

      Thank you Professor Watwood for your response and your service.

      My father-in-law was an Army Air Corp. tail gunner on a B-17 in the European Theater during WW II, my grandfather (Mother’s Father) was part of the Philippine resistance fighters in WW II, my father is a Vietnam Era Air Force 20 year veteran who spent time in Thailand & the Philippines during the conflict, and I am a Navy veteran of the First Gulf War in 1991. I agree about being a war weary nation but we also have to understand and respect the sacrifices of all that serve our nation. I hope to maintain the flame that helps others remember the sacrifices the Greatest Generation endured. Thanks again Dr. Watwood!

    moirawalsh said:
    December 9, 2013 at 2:36 am

    Thank you. All the males in my family have been in the military. I have a soft spot in my heart for Filipinos, since they rescued a relative of mine separated from his unit in WW2. My best and oldest friend is from the Philippines and, coincidentally, her father climbed a palm tree to watch this Army unit enter the area. It may have been Luzon, but I’m not sure. My son was in Iraq for a year a few years ago and I have been a proud Military Mom ever since. I’m sorry I missed this yesterday, but I had an emergency with one of my children.

    lybrarylyon said:
    December 9, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    Thank you for posting this information. I appreciate and am grateful for the service of the military and the sacrifices of their family members. As a leader, it is important that these important events be remembered in the workplace as well.

Leave a Reply

